New Board Members

On 21 December 2017, the Governor in Council approved the three-year appointment of Peter Murphy (Chair), Michael Arnold, and Alasdair Begley to the Board.  Continuing on the Board are Russell Priebbenow, Glenn Campbell, Karen Norton, Darlene Skennar QC, and Neesha Pierce.

Outgoing chair Peter Sippel and former board member John Carroll both served on the Board for ten years and provided significant contributions to both the Board and the surveying profession.

Peter Murphy
B.Surv (UQ), FSSSI, Reg Surv (Cad, Eng, Cons), GAICD
Peter is a Director and an owner of consulting survey and town planning firm Brazier Motti which operates across North Queensland. He graduated with a Bachelor of Surveying from the University of Queensland in 1979 and has subsequently obtained additional postgraduate qualifications in Surveying and Mapping Studies from UQ, and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Peter commenced his professional career with the Australian Government moving to private practice in 1991.

Mike Arnold
Mike holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Surveying) degree and has a Post Graduate Diploma in Urban and Regional Town Planning and is a registered consulting cadastral surveyor. He is a director and member of the Regional Management Group of the Spatial Industries Business Association, a member of the Surveying and Spatial Sciences Institute and a member of the Urban Development Institute of Australia.  Mike works on the Gold Coast in his own business Arnold Development Consultants and has over 25 years’ experience in the surveying/spatial sciences industry.

Alasdair Begley
Alasdair holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Surveying) degree and an Executive MBC from the Queensland University of Technology.  Alasdair is a registered cadastral surveyor and a Board member of Queensland Spatial and Surveying Association, and a member of the Spatial Industry Business Association, Urban Development Institute of Australia and the Property Council of Australia. Alasdair is the Managing Director of the Saunders Havill Group in Brisbane and has over 15 years of surveying experience.

The new Board is:

Peter Murphy (Chair)    Brazier Motti Pty Ltd
Russell Priebbenow       Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy
Glenn Campbell             University of Southern Queensland
Karen Norton                 MPA Surveying Pty Ltd
Michael Arnold              Arnold Development Consultants Pty Ltd
Alasdair Begley              Saunders Havill Group Pty Ltd
Darlene Skennar QC      Barrister
Neesha Pierce                 Solicitor

Mr Ken Cross is advisor to the Board on mine surveying related matters.

The first meeting of the new Board is 1 February 2018.