Form 12 Certification Monday, June 27th, 2022

The Surveyors Board of Queensland (the Board) has identified that there is come uncertainty across both industry and the community in respect to when a registered cadastral surveyor can provide certifications under the new Building Regulation 2021. The new Building Regulation 2021 commenced on 1 September 2021 replacing the old Building Regulation 2006 and there […]

Boundary Reinstatement Friday, March 18th, 2022

The Board has recently received a number of complaints from Surveyors regarding the quality of boundary reinstatement. In particular, where the frontage of the subject block has been established and deed angle & distances have been accepted without the appropriate supporting evidence. The Board’s position is that Surveyors are required to prove the depth of […]

Cadastral Endorsement Competency Assessment Monday, January 31st, 2022

At its meeting on 2nd December 2021 the Board approved changes to the assessment of Cadastral Endorsement Competency.  The existing arrangements which involve either the submission of CER’s and a PAP or an oral presentation will be phased out and be replaced by a new process involving formal face to face interviews. The assessment process […]

Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR) Monday, January 31st, 2022

Introduction Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR) legislation has recently been passed by the Commonwealth Government. AMR has been described as the ‘driver’s licence model’ as it allows an occupational licence issued in one jurisdiction to be recognised automatically by another jurisdiction – without the licence holder having to obtain a local licence or pay an additional […]

Changes to Assessment of Cadastral Endorsement Competency Friday, December 3rd, 2021

At its meeting on 2nd December 2021 the Board approved changes to the assessment of Cadastral Endorsement Competency.  These changes come after the completion of a pilot program in November 2021.    The Board would like to thank the seven surveyors who participated in the pilot program and it is pleased to announce that all […]

Disciplinary Matter: Mr Richard Henderson (Focus Survey Group) Friday, August 27th, 2021

The steady flow of disciplinary matters being referred to the Board continues to be a significant part of the Board’s activities. For the public, it is important that not only do they have the right to be heard but their concerns are dealt with. To the profession it is important that complaints with substance are […]

Corporate Registration Tuesday, October 13th, 2020

Corporate Registration s38 of the Surveyors Act 2003 covers corporation eligibility for registration and registration endorsement.  Specifically, s38(3) of the Surveyors Act 2003 provides: The corporation must employ or have as one of its executive officers— (a)          a surveyor who holds a registration endorsement as a consulting surveyor; and (b)          if the corporation requires an […]

Retaining Walls & New Executive Officer Monday, June 1st, 2020

1              Survey Plans – Retaining Walls The Board has recently written to a number of surveyors for failing to record the location of retaining walls on survey plans when the retaining wall is close to the boundary. This is specifically the case with new sub-divisions. While the Board accepts that it is possible for the […]

Certificate of Currency & COVID-19 Friday, April 3rd, 2020

1              Tender Submissions – Certificate of Currency The Board regularly receives requests from surveyors/corporations for a “Certificate of Currency” which lists the level of registration held by an individual or corporation eg, registered surveyor with consulting and cadastral endorsements, plus the period the registration is valid for. The Certificate of Currency is generally required to […]

New Board Members Friday, February 14th, 2020

On 12 December 2019, the Governor in Council approved the three year appointment of Mr Kenneth Cross to the Board and reappointed Dr Glenn Campbell, Mrs Karen Norton, Ms Darlene Skennar QC, to the Board.  Continuing on the Board are Peter Murphy (Chair), Russell Priebbenow, Michael Arnold, Alasdair Begley and Neesha Pierce. KEN CROSS – […]