Disciplinary Matter: Mr Richard Henderson (Focus Survey Group) Friday, August 27th, 2021

The steady flow of disciplinary matters being referred to the Board continues to be a significant part of the Board’s activities. For the public, it is important that not only do they have the right to be heard but their concerns are dealt with. To the profession it is important that complaints with substance are […]

Corporate Registration Tuesday, October 13th, 2020

Corporate Registration s38 of the Surveyors Act 2003 covers corporation eligibility for registration and registration endorsement.  Specifically, s38(3) of the Surveyors Act 2003 provides: The corporation must employ or have as one of its executive officers— (a)          a surveyor who holds a registration endorsement as a consulting surveyor; and (b)          if the corporation requires an […]

Retaining Walls & New Executive Officer Monday, June 1st, 2020

1              Survey Plans – Retaining Walls The Board has recently written to a number of surveyors for failing to record the location of retaining walls on survey plans when the retaining wall is close to the boundary. This is specifically the case with new sub-divisions. While the Board accepts that it is possible for the […]

Certificate of Currency & COVID-19 Friday, April 3rd, 2020

1              Tender Submissions – Certificate of Currency The Board regularly receives requests from surveyors/corporations for a “Certificate of Currency” which lists the level of registration held by an individual or corporation eg, registered surveyor with consulting and cadastral endorsements, plus the period the registration is valid for. The Certificate of Currency is generally required to […]

New Board Members Friday, February 14th, 2020

On 12 December 2019, the Governor in Council approved the three year appointment of Mr Kenneth Cross to the Board and reappointed Dr Glenn Campbell, Mrs Karen Norton, Ms Darlene Skennar QC, to the Board.  Continuing on the Board are Peter Murphy (Chair), Russell Priebbenow, Michael Arnold, Alasdair Begley and Neesha Pierce. KEN CROSS – […]

Surveyors Board of Queensland Newsletter (Inc. Staking of Original Boundaries or Offsets) Monday, July 1st, 2019

1          Registration  Numbers While overall registration numbers have increased by 10% in the past decade the aging profile of the profession has had an impact on the registration numbers within the individual registration categories.  Listed below is a comparison of the current registration numbers 2019 to the numbers from 2010.   Category of Registration 2019 […]

Project Bank Accounts Friday, June 22nd, 2018

The following information is provided to advise of the introduction and applicability of Project Bank Accounts for building work which may include survey related work. Background In 2017, the Queensland Government introduced a suite of reforms to the building and construction industry through the Building Industry Fairness (Security of Payment) Act 2017 (the BIF Act). […]

Form 16 Certification Monday, May 28th, 2018

Form 16 Certification – Boundary Location The Board continues to receive advice that Form 16 certifications concerning the location of buildings in relation to a property boundary are being provided by people who are not qualified to provide the certification, as they are not registered cadastral surveyors. The Board published the Guideline – Surveys relating […]

Registration Issues and Restoration Policy Friday, March 2nd, 2018

2 March 2018 Registration Issues The Board has received requests from employers to issue registration renewals direct to the employer instead of the individual registrant, and in some cases to reissue the tax invoice in the name of the employer. The Board’s responsibility is linked to the registrant and to maintain the required statutory information […]

New Board Members Thursday, January 18th, 2018

On 21 December 2017, the Governor in Council approved the three-year appointment of Peter Murphy (Chair), Michael Arnold, and Alasdair Begley to the Board.  Continuing on the Board are Russell Priebbenow, Glenn Campbell, Karen Norton, Darlene Skennar QC, and Neesha Pierce. Outgoing chair Peter Sippel and former board member John Carroll both served on the […]